About Us

Saugeen Memorial Hospital Foundation

The Saugeen Memorial Hospital Foundation is a registered charity (#88959 9825 RR001). Our mission is to raise and manage funds for equipment, facilities and staff development to ensure our community and visitors have access to the best possible hospital care.

The Foundation is one of five Foundations supporting the 6 hospitals in Grey Bruce Health Services; Owen Sound, Markdale, Wiarton/Lion’s Head, Meaford and Southampton. Our fundraised dollars are used to purchase equipment for the Southampton site and our share, generally based on patient usage, for our regional hospital in Owen Sound.

Each year, we raise between $400,000 and $600,000 to purchase the capital list of priority equipment needs.  Hospital equipment is generally not funded by the government.  Equipment becomes outdated quickly and new equipment is always needed.  We are also in the final stages of raising funds for the ER/Lab Expansion Project at the Southampton Site.

The Board of Director set priorities each year during a planning session  held in the summer.  Donor support is key to ensuring that the hospital continues to thrive!

Board of Directors:
  • Jim Barbour, Chair
  • Mary-Jo Arnett, Vice-Chair
  • Joan Vaughan, Secretary-Treasurer
  • Jonna Ebel, Past Chair
  • John Divinski
  • Susan Dunlop
  • Megan Dunn
  • Randy Fehr
  • John Gallup
  • Cathe McIntosh
  • Jennifer Tuer
Legal Counsel:

Brian Hilbers - Chief Legal Officer, Bruce Power

Foundation Staff:

Tracy Murray, Executive Director
Shannon VanValkenburg, Accounting Officer
Willard VanderPloeg, Charitable Giving Advisor